Review: Mick Harvey "Four (Acts of Love)"
Mon, 1 Jul 2013

After more than three decades as Nick Cave’s wingman in the Bad Seeds, in 2009 Mick Harvey decided to break out on his own. He’s no stranger to solo projects, but his current group—stripped down to a trio with double bassist Rosie Westbrook and guitarist/violinist J.P. Shilo—is best suited to his intimate, gut-wrenching songcraft. “Summertime in New York” surges with Westbrook’s jazzy inflections, but the real killer here is “While There’s Smoke (after)”—a hypnotic, one-and-a-half minute lope into the dark ambient apocalypse.

Register / login to rate articles and leave comments.

What's your take on keyboard bass?
 Love it
 Leave it alone
 Got it covered via stompboxes
Guitar World Guitar Player Guitar Aficionado Revolver Mag Bass Player Keyboard Mag Emusician
Bass Player is a trademark of New Bay Media, LLC. All material published on is copyrighted @2014 by New Bay Media, LLC. All rights reserved