Review: Mick Harvey "Four (Acts of Love)"

July 1, 2013

After more than three decades as Nick Cave’s wingman in the Bad Seeds, in 2009 Mick Harvey decided to break out on his own. He’s no stranger to solo projects, but his current group—stripped down to a trio with double bassist Rosie Westbrook and guitarist/violinist J.P. Shilo—is best suited to his intimate, gut-wrenching songcraft. “Summertime in New York” surges with Westbrook’s jazzy inflections, but the real killer here is “While There’s Smoke (after)”—a hypnotic, one-and-a-half minute lope into the dark ambient apocalypse.

Keep up-to-date on the latest news
Get our Free Newsletter Here!


comments powered by Disqus

Search Gear

Reader Poll

What's your take on keyboard bass?

See results without voting »