Alabama Shakes Announce New Album

Zac Cockrell and Alabama Shakes Announce Their New Album Sound & Color

Alabama Shakes have announced that they will be releasing the highly anticipated follow-up to their 2012 Grammy-nominated debut. The new album is titled Sound & Color and will be released on April 21, 2015.

Bassist Zac Cockrell has stepped us his role on the new material, as his playing features funky grooves and backbeat pocket lines that have evolved from his blues-based playing on 2012's Boys & Girls. His bold new approach is prominent on the album's first single "Don't Want To Fight," which the band released this audio/video for:

“We took our time to write this record, and I’m really glad we did,” says Brittany Howard, lead singer and guitarist of Alabama Shakes, about the band’s new album Sound & Color. “We were able to sit down and think about what’s exciting to us, explore all the things we wanted to on our first album. This record is full of genre-bending songs—it’s even harder now when people ask, ‘What kind of band are you?’ I have no clue.”

The album’s twelve songs reveal a band honed by years on the road, and drawing from a wide range of influences. The bluesy groove of “Shoegaze” or the garage-rock freak-out on “The Greatest” give way to the psychedelic space jam “Gemini.” The gently swaying, chiming title song opens the album with what Howard calls “more of a visual thing, I think of this whole scene going on,” then explodes into the urgent, tightly-coiled funk of “Don’t Wanna Fight.” Long instrumental intros and passages create hazy atmosphere, and then the intensity of Howard’s vocals snaps everything back into riveting focus.

Track List:

1. Sound and Color

2. Don’t Wanna Fight

3. Dunes

4. Future People

5. Gimme All Your Love

6. This Feeling

7. Guess Who

8. The Greatest

9. Shoegaze

10. Miss You

11. Gemini

12. Over My Head

Check out this BP interview with Zac Cockrell from 2013: Can't Shake The Feeling