The Thumb Of Doom graces Josh Homme's latest collective effort. Pic: Andreas Neumann

Desert Sessions Volumes 11 and 12 will be released on October 25, 16 years after the last instalment. The band, led by Queens Of The Stone Age frontman Joshua Homme, includes Billy Gibbons (ZZ Top), Stella Mozgawa (Warpaint), Jake Shears (Scissor Sisters), Mike Kerr (Royal Blood), Carla Azar (Autolux, Jack White), Les Claypool (Primus), Matt Sweeney, Matt Berry (What We Do in the Shadows, Toast of London), Libby Grace and Töôrnst Hülpft.

The albums, titled Arrivederci Despair and Tightwads & Nitwits & Critics & Heels respectively, are released by Matador Records: a limited edition first vinyl pressing will include a custom mix-and-match body-swap booklet, whatever that may be. The music was recorded in a six-day span in December 2018 at Rancho De La Luna studios in Joshua Tree, CA.

As the press release tells us: “The results are eight new songs that embody the legacy of freedom from expectations and inhibitions that stretches back to 1997, when Homme led a first retreat to the Joshua Tree desert. What began as a casual writing and recording session amongst friends—isolated from daily distractions and comforts—has since become a possibly infinite body of work. Now spanning 12 volumes over the course of two decades (and a total of two documented live performances), the Desert Sessions has featured some of music’s most cherished icons—past players have included Polly Harvey, Mark Lanegan, Josh Freese, Dean Ween, among many others—deliberately removing themselves from their comfort zones and working together to create some of their most relaxed yet challenging work.”

Exclusive merchandise bundles are available for pre-order now at: