Hiatus Kaiyote Announce New Album Slated for May

Australian experimental R&B act Hiatus Kaiyote is preparing to release their sophomore album "Choose Your Weapon" on May 5, 2015
Publish date:
Updated on

If you have not yet heard the groovy and soulful sound of the debut album Tawk Tomahawk from Australia's Hiatus Kaiyote, then it appears that you have some catching up to do. The quartet has just announced that their sophomore album, Choose Your Weapon, will be released on May 5, 2015. The outfit turned heads with their 2013 debut and even went on to earn a Grammy nomination in The Best R&B Performance category for their song "Nakamarra" featuring Q-Tip at this year's ceremony.

Powered by the funky groove of bassist Paul Bender, the music of Hiatus Kaiyote is heavily bass-centric and their new material showcases even more of his fancy finger work on the freshly minted 18-track, 70 minute jazz-meets-R&B-meets-neo-soul album. 

While the record is slotted for release in May, the band has released this live video of a new track from Choose Your Weapon titled "By Fire." 

Track Listing for Choose Your Weapon

  1. Choose Your Weapon
  2. Shaolin Monk Motherfunk
  3. Laputa
  4. Creations Part One
  5. Borderline With My Atoms
  6. Breathing Underwater
  7. Cicada
  8. Swamp Thing
  9. Fingerprints
  10. Jekyll
  11. Prince Minikid
  12. Atari
  13. By Fire
  14. Creations Part Two
  15. The Lung
  16. Only Time All The Time/Making Friends With Studio Owl
  17. Molasses
  18. Building A Ladder

Visit their webpage for more details: Hiatus Kaiyote