Robert DeLeo Joins Joe Perry And His All-Star Band For Performances

Joe Perry was backed by guitarist Dean DeLeo and bassist Robert DeLeo (Stone Temple Pilots), Buck Johnson (keyboards/vocals/Aerosmith) and David Goodstein (drums) who performed the entire set that also featured guest appearances by Slash and Johnny Depp.
Image placeholder title

JOE PERRY--legendary guitarist, co-founding member, principal songwriter and co-producer of Aerosmith--and his all-star band crushed it at a two-hour plus set this past Tuesday (January 16) at The Roxy Theatre in Los Angeles, CA. JOE was backed by guitarist Dean DeLeo and bassist Robert DeLeo (Stone Temple Pilots), Buck Johnson (keyboards/vocals/Aerosmith) and David Goodstein (drums) who performed the entire set that also featured guest appearances by Slash and Johnny Depp. Gary Cherone (Extreme/Van Halen) handled vocals for the bulk of the show, with other guest vocalists also lighting up the Roxy: Terry Reid, David Johanson, Robin Zander and Chris Robinson.

Tuesday's set list included SWEETZERLAND MANIFESTO collaborations "I'll Do Happiness," "Sick & Tired," and "Won't Let Me Go" with Terry Reid, "Eve of Destruction" alongside the album's executive producer Johnny Depp, "I Wanna Roll" with David Johanson and Depp followed by "I'm Goin' Crazy" with Johanson, the album's first single "Aye, Aye, Aye" with Robin Zander, who stayed on with the band to play Zander's "Countryside Blvd" solo song, before the band went on to play the album's instrumental "Spanish Sushi." Beyond these guests, PERRY was joined by Chris Robinson on PERRY's "Fortunate One" and "Quake" with Cherone with all the special guests then joining in on a crowd sing-a-long of the Beatles' classic "Come Together." Other songs in the show included PERRY solo tracks "Shakin' My Cage" and "Rockin' Train" and Aerosmith tracks "Let The Music Do The Talking," "Toys In The Attic," "Pandora's Box," and "Train Kept A Rollin'" with Slash and Depp.

The show came three days before the release of his SWEETZERLAND MANIFESTO album. Set for release on his own Roman Records imprint (distributed worldwide by AMPED Distribution), SWEETZERLAND MANIFESTO--which is available for pre-order via iTunes and Amazon--marks JOE's sixth solo album and is comprised of 10 new tracks. They were all written or co-written by JOE (many with the album's guest vocalists), except for a cover of "Eve Of Destruction" with JOE on lead vocals and Johnny Depp on drums. The album features guest appearances from a long list of JOE's friends, colleagues and rock and roll icons. Highlights include "Aye, Aye, Aye," which JOE co-wrote with the track's vocalist Robin Zander,and three collaborations with David Johansen, who sings "I Wanna Roll," "Haberdasher Blues," and "I'm Going Crazy," plus as many co-writes with Terry Reid whose lead vocals light up "I'll Do Happiness," (with Zak Starkey on drums), "Sick & Tired" and "Won't Let Me Go."

The full set list from The Roxy Theatre show is as follows (with guest vocalists listed in parenthesis):

Let The Music Do The Talking
Toys In The Attic
Pandora's Box
Shakin' My Cage
I'll Do Happiness (Terry Reid)
Sick & Tired (Terry Reid)
Won't Let Me Go (Terry Reid)
Fortunate One (Chris Robinson)
Spanish Sushi
Eve of Destruction (Johnny Depp)
I Wanna Roll (David Johanson and Johnny Depp)
I'm Goin' Crazy (David Johanson)
Countryside Blvd (Robin Zander)
Aye, Aye, Aye (Robin Zander)
Rockin' Train
Come Together (all guests)
Train Kept A Rollin' (Slash and Johnny Depp)


Throughout his career, the electrifying lead guitarist of Aerosmith--America's Greatest Rock & Roll Band--JOE PERRY has achieved permanent iconic stature in the pantheon of rock. He has helped to drive his band, over the course of four decades, to sales of more than 150 million albums, critical acclaim, four Grammy Awards (one of which includes the guitar-based instrumental "Boogie Man") and induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. JOE PERRY's work with Aerosmith has resulted in an unending array of accolades and honors. Beyond their Grammy Awards and Rock and Roll Hall of Fame induction, other key milestones over the nearly 50 year history include: 12 MTV Video Awards; two People's Choice Awards; six Billboard Music Awards; eight American Music Awards; 23 Boston Music Awards; and an Academy Award nomination for Best Song, "I Don't Want to Miss a Thing" (from the soundtrack to Armageddon).