The Bad Plus Announce New Album 'Never Stop II'

The Bad Plus is excited to announce the release of their new album, Never Stop II on January 19, 2018
Image placeholder title

The Bad Plus is excited to announce the release of their new album, Never Stop II on January 19, 2018 (LEGBREAKER RECORDS). NPR's First Listen's posted the album in its entirety today. Never Stop II is the 13th studio recording from The Bad Plus, and the first featuring pianist Orrin Evans alongside founding members Reid Anderson (bass) and Dave King (drums). It is a rebirth and also an affirmation between three musicians, enriching the trajectory of this 18-year-old band and its longstanding commitment to creative group improvised music.

Upon the departure of original pianist Ethan Iverson, Anderson and King asked longtime friend Orrin Evans to join the band. Evans has been a vital contributor to the modern jazz landscape for more than 20 years with his solo projects and other groups.

Says Evans, "This band feels like family to me. The music has a lived-in quality because of the deep relationships between the band members, and I feel really comfortable within this democratic construct."

Never Stop II features four original compositions by Anderson, two by Evans, and two by King. Two additional bonus tracks written by Anderson are included on the digital download and CD editions of the album.

The album was tracked live in the studio with no overdubs, guided by longtime engineer Pete Rende in September 2017 in New York City. The new lineup rehearsed over several months to prepare the new material and get a feel for improvising together. The resulting record confirms the original band members' idea that The Bad Plus could have a new life while retaining its democratic, leaderless group aesthetic - three composers, three identities, coming together under the umbrella of a band to create one unified sound.

"That, in essence, is the nature of The Bad Plus," says King. "When there is no leader and everyone has a personal responsibility to bring their full selves to the table, no matter what the material, the resulting sound of commitment and open-hearted connection is realized. We have the chance now with Orrin to restate our message: there is no leader, there is only the music."

The band has plans to tour as relentlessly as it always has in 2018-19 in support of the new record and the new lineup. The current itinerary is below.

Says Anderson, "We feel that Orrin is the perfect component to continue our solidarity, and honor what the fans of this band have come to expect: a unique template for improvised music using acoustic instruments and equal voices."

January 19, 2018
Track Listing:

Hurricane Birds (Reid Anderson)
Trace (Reid Anderson)
Boffadem (Orrin Evans)
Safe Passage (Reid Anderson)
1983 Regional All-Star (David King)
Salvages (Reid Anderson)
Commitment (Orrin Evans)
Lean in the Archway (David King)

Bonus tracks:
Kerosene II (Reid Anderson)
Seams (Reid Anderson)


17 - 20 - St. Louis, MO - Jazz St. Louis
24 - Nashville, TN - City Winery
25 - Cincinnati, OH - Live at The Ludlow Garage
26 - Indianapolis, IN - Jazz Kitchen
27 & 28 - Cleveland, OH - Bop Shop

1 - Highwood, IL - 210 Restaurant & Live Music Lounge
2 - Chicago, IL - Old Town School of Folk Music

9 - 11 - Washington, DC - Blues Alley
14 - Northampton, MA - Iron Horse Music Hall
15 - Old Lyme, CT - The SideDoor Jazz Club
16 & 17 - Boston, MA - Scullers @ Double Tree Suites by Hilton
20 & 21 - Denver, CO - Dazzle at Baur's
22 - Laramie, WY - University of Wyoming
23 - Bozeman, MT - Rialto Bozeman
29 - June 3 - New York, NY - Blue Note NYC

1 - 3 - New York, NY - Blue Note NYC
8 - Princeton, NJ - Berlind Theatre
23 - Rochester, NY - Temple Theater


For more visit: The Bad Plus