Performed by Adrien Contreras

Shot by Sean Bivins

Edited by Reyka Osburn

Song: The Son

Album: Muerte (2018)

Adrien plays:

Amplification: Orange OB1-500 bass amp

Ampeg 8 10 cab

Guitars: G&L JB2 Bass

Sacramento based Will Haven’s sound is an overpowering blend of metal, hardcore, atmosphere and noise. Their origins can be traced back to 1995, when they first emerged as a staple in Sacramento’s storied underground. For the past two decades-plus, they’ve existed on the fringe of extreme music. This year, Will Haven return to release their sixth full-length album and first for minus HEAD Records, entitled Muerte (Spanish for “death”), but this is anything but the end. Rather, it’s a whole new beginning.

Muerte is available for pre-order now via Amazon and Bandcamp, with iTunes digital, PledgeMusic bundles and Spotify streaming becoming available very soon. Throughout 2017, the members of Will Haven secretly recordedMuerte at Pus Cavern Studios in Sacramento, CA with Joe Johnston engineering and co-producing alongside Irwin. They pieced together a corrosive, chaotic, and cohesive vision that never relents over its 11 tracks. Mastering was handled by Logan Mader (Devil You Know, Fear Factory, Periphery). In addition to the writing/performance collaboration with Stephen Carpenter on “El Sol”, the sludgy track “No Escape” features the haunting contributions of yet another guest, YOB vocalist/guitarist Mike Scheidt.

Will Haven have released a string of seminal and influential albums, kicked off by 1997’s El Diablo and WHVN two years later. Between tours with everyone from Slipknot to Deftones, Carpe Diem proved an influential milestone in 2001 and garnered the band a spot on the Vans Warped Tour that year. Then, avowed fans and scene compatriots Chino Moreno and Far’s Shaun Lopez co-produced The Hierophant released in 2007. Slipknot percussionist Chris Fehn assumed bass duties on the 2011 opus Voir Dire, which landed among Metal Hammer’s “Top 50 Albums of the Year.” Following the release of 2015’s Open Mind to Discomfort EP, the band began sculpting Muerte.

  1. Hewed With the Brand
  2. Winds of Change
  3. Kinney
  4. The Son
  5. 43
  6. No Escape (feat. Mike Scheidt of YOB)
  7. Unit K
  8. Ladwig No. 949
  9. Bootstraps
  10. Now in the Ashes
  11. El Sol (co-written by/feat. Stephen Carpenter of Deftones)

Grady Avenell (singer)

Jeff Irwin (guitar)

Adrien Contreras (bass)

Mitch Wheeler (drums)