Watch Ramón Vázquez Perform the First Ever Orchestra Concerto Written for 6-string Bass (VIDEO)

Ramón Vázquez - Concerto for Electric Bass and Orchestra by Alfonso Fuentes

Ramón Vázquez is a bassist and composer from the Caribbean who teamed up with the Sishuan Philarmonic Orchestra to compose the first ever full orchestra concerto written for the 6-string electric bass. Check out clips of the beautiful movement here: 

Soloist: Ramón Vázquez
Guest Conductor Daniel Gazon
Sichuan Philharmonic Orchestra
World premiere on April 10th 2015 at Chengdu Concert Pride Hall, Chengdu, China. 

Here are a few other clips of Vázquez performing with some impressive company:

Clinic At Berklee College of Music on May 2013 with John Patitucci, Steve Bailey and Ramón Vázquez. Patrick Simard on Drums: 

Performing with Chick Corea:

Soloing with his quartet: 

To learn more click here: Ramón Vázquez